Thirty-Eight Minutes Can Feel Like…

I spent the weekend marking papers, so I was pretty stoked to get back in front of students. I know that as an English teacher there will be a fair amount of marking, but I’ve always enjoyed the classroom aspect much more. However, I’m not sure if it’s the pre-Halloween jitters or two-month stretch, but classes seem to be a little more restless. I see a few seeds of indifference creeping up in certain spots, and I get a bit nervous.

I’ve seen indifference when I walk around the mall or anywhere really. Between nuclear warfare and apathy, I fear apathy more because that’s what will actually lead to the destruction of the world. Yes, I’m being a bit over-dramatic, but I can’t help it. This is probably one of the reasons why I want to teach, so I can help the youth see that absolutely everyone can make a difference. I have that choice too. I could either pull out my mean-teacher voice and try to glue students to their seats or find a way to work with their restlessness and channel it into something productive. Now if only I can get over the two-month stretch as well, so I can figure out what that productive thing can be.

Leave a Reply

